The Olave Award for Outstanding Service to Community 2012-2014

Are you making a difference to your community? You could win an Olave Award! 

The Olave Award is “an international Award to honour the memory of the World Chief Guide, Olave, Lady Baden-Powell and to keep alive her belief in the spirit of service”. It is awarded by WAGGGS to groups of Girl Guides/Girl Scouts who have created positive change in their community. 

The education of girls and young women is central to everything Girl Guides and Girl Scouts do. WAGGGS believes that all girls and young women have the right to learn what they need to fulfil their potential, and that learning takes place at all stages of life and in many different ways.olaveawardWC2011

To celebrate the contribution that Girl Guides and Girl Scouts around the world make to the education of girls and young women, the 2014 Olave Award will recognise projects that have contributed to:

  • MDG 2 (Millennium Development Goal* 2): Achieve Universal Primary Education (using education to open doors for all girls and boys).  


  • have used education as a way of bringing change to the community. For example, a project that aims to enable more girls to be able to go to school would be eligible, as would a project that uses non-formal education to enable young women to protect themselves from diseases.

In particular, WAGGGS is looking for:

Innovation: where Girl Guides/Girl Scouts have found new and creative ways to bring change

Impact: where Girl Guides/Girl Scouts have made a considerable difference to their community.

Projects can be long or short term, of any size, and focus on any community group. They should be focussed on bringing change within the Member Organisations’ home country.

Each Member Organisation can select up to four projects to submit for consideration. Please do not submit projects that have been submitted before.olaveaward2011

Award winners will be selected by a panel of judges and will be announced at the WAGGGS World Conference in Hong Kong, July 2014. We received a record number of 20 entries in 2009-2011 and 9 of these received the Olave Award. We encourage all MOs to recognize the hard work that their members are doing in this area and submit a project for this prestigious award.

Further information and nomination forms are available in the attached documents on the right.

The deadline for nominations is 30 November 2013.

Mary Mc Phail

Chief Executive

World Association of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts

*Find our more about MDGs here

Your comments

No comments yet... Why not be the first?

Have your say

Post your comments about this page here. For general questions, go to Contact. When posting comments, please be considerate of others and refrain from abusive or off topic posts. Comments will only be uploaded if they are considered appropriate. Email addresses or any other personal details will not be allowed. HTML code will be removed from comments; linebreaks will be kept intact.

Type the characters you see in the image above